Skip to content

The Old House Review

December 5, 2010


I’d been wanting to visit the Old House for a while, especially after seeing their menu online.

The fact that they make their own sausages and pies impressed me. So, when I walked past whilst Christmas shopping, I knew I just had to try a pie for lunch.
The place looks like most of the student bars in this area but with the addition of some comfy chairs and a fireplace. The main emphasis being on the huge bar with its vast array of spirits.

A glance at the cocktail menu persuaded me to make another visit, for drinks at least. One cocktail in particular, ‘Toblerone’ made with frangelico, kahlua, dark cacao, cream and honey sounds amazing!

Back to the food though. A friendly girl took our order. I went for the ‘special pie of the day’ which was beef and root vegetables, whilst my mum opted for a cheese burger. I chose mash over chips as I have a weakness for it, plus I’m not a huge fan of chips.

The food arrived and the presentation was okay. I was sadly disappointed with the mash as it was pale, dry, and desperately in need of some butter. My mum gave me a chip which was very good indeed. I made the wrong choice of potato accompaniment, obviously

The pie itself was lovely: tender beef and some perfectly cooked chunks of parsnips and carrots in a rich red wine sauce. I liked the textures of all the different components and that it hadn’t all turned into mush as most pies I’ve had tend to do.

The gravy was good with a nice meaty depth. The mushy peas were exactly that, mushy and pea-ey.

 

 

I was tempted by the desserts, especially pear and ginger sticky toffee pudding, but I seriously had no room left.

Overall I was satisfied. For two main meals, a tea and a pint of cider it comes to around £20, which is about average.

I’d give them 7/10.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lucy Harper permalink
    December 5, 2010 6:15 pm

    I’d say that’s a fair assessment of The Old House. We went on saturday lunchtime, good menu, great staff, shame about lousy state of the toilets!

Leave a Reply

