Skip to content

Tramlines: Interview with Jehst, Micall Parknsun, Joker Starr & DJ JazzT

July 26, 2010

Following up from the previous post, here’s the interview I did with Jehst, Micall Parknsun Joker Starr and DJ JazzT after their stellar gig on Saturday at Tramlines festival. The guys were all really busy so big thanks to them for sparing me the time to do this.

Q: You’ve clearly got a massive following in the UK hip-hop scene; do you see big things coming up in the next few months? What are you looking forward to?

Jehst: More shows and putting the final touches to my album. I’ve been putting that off for far too long, so I’m looking forward to getting that mastered, getting all the artwork together and getting that weight off my mind!

JokerStarr: I’m looking forward to having my first LP out and accessible to people. It’s just a fun learning experience at the minute; I’m still a couple of steps behind Jehst.

Micall Parknsun: I’ll be in the studio. I’m concentrating on working out new sounds and trying to do something new. To be honest, I’m more looking forward to Jehst’s new album! It’s one thing to see something developing directly and another to be fan of it – to be both is mind-blowing. He’s inspired a lot of people; there are a lot of people who wouldn’t be rapping if it wasn’t for him. It’s harder for me because I’ve got a wife and three kids at home, but I’m back on it. I’ll be making my beats. Shit come soon…

DJ JazzT: I’ve got a lot of stuff on my label coming up. Ramson Badbonez’s new album is coming up so we’re doing to promo for that. We’ve got a new project coming up with Kashmere too – that’ll probably be next year now. It’s called “Galactus”.

Jehst: I’ve got the label YNR Productions, too, so I’m always working on other people’s music as well as my own. The last album we put out was a producer album by Jon Phonics which featured a lot of up-and-coming underground London rappers. There were a lot of really good people on there that you’ll hear more from; people like Fliptrix, Pheonix and Cyrus Malachi.

Q: When can we expect your album to be out, Jehst?

Jehst: I’m hoping towards the end of the year, but maybe early next year if that what it takes. I’m very conscientious about campaigning things properly. It’s music industry things, such as the fact that when you hit Christmas everything stops in terms of getting independent products into stores. You have to be conscious of those things and that’s something you learn as you go along.

Q: How do you think the gig went tonight? How do you like Sheffield?

Jehst: Yeah, we’ve played Sheffield before. It’s been a little while but it’s always dope. I’ve always enjoyed Tuesday Club; there’s always a live crowd, lots of energy. I’ve got love for the Steel City.

[The Ruby Kid chips in: One of the first gigs I ever saw when I moved here was Parky with Dubbledge and Mystro at The Forum, just down the road.]

Micall Parknsun: Oh yeah – it was Mystro! I knew I’d been here before. I was here once was Kyza but that was ages ago, when The Working-Class Dad first came out. I like the interaction with the crowd and the energy.

JokerStarr: It was my first time in Sheffield today. I was a bit taken aback by the energy people were giving. It was almost the perfect crowd you want as an artist – small, close, intimate, responsive, energetic, joining in… you can’t really get any better.

Q: There’ll be people reading this who’re coming up in the UK hip-hop scene; have you got any tips for new artists?

Micall Parknsun: Stay dedicated. If man says “you’re wack”, then stay at it. But if you’re still wack after ten years… give up.

JokerStarr: My sensible answer would be to just enjoy learning the craft, rather than trying to get a career and be rich. Just enjoy being creative. It wasn’t my intention to be known as a rapper; I didn’t start rapping until I was 19, but within two years of that I had a song on radio rotation. It was never my goal to do that but I got it through working hard at my craft.

DJ JazzT: I think people should get a bit of backbone, battle and just develop their skills. The essence of hip-hop is battling for me. All this shit where you just come and make some songs… young artists should test their skills before they decide they’re a rapper.

JokerStarr: Competition does keep our skills sharp. It can be beneficial to how the product comes out.

Jehst: Can I end this interview by saying that my advice is to not listen to any of the advice this lot have given! They’re all idiots. [To the others:] That’s a good ending, isn’t it? Cussing you all down?

Q: Thank you guys!

Rosie @ Lovesheffield

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 5:10 pm

    THANKS FOR THE POST. LIKE ANYTHING
    COMPS MAKE BETTER AND BETTER

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « Love Sheffield
  2. Tramlines 2011 Marathon… « Love Sheffield

Leave a Reply

