Skip to content

Update/Heeley Festival

July 3, 2010

It’s been a little while since there’s been any activity on this here site, but as we move towards a mad spell of Sheffield activity (Tramlines anyone?) I thought I’d do a little catchup.

I have spent much of the last period in Glastonbury, and so not been in Sheffield. However, before that there’s lots to say, so here goes.

I went to Heeley Festival a few weeks ago – it’s changed beyond what I remember as a child, but was still a great family afternoon out. The Heeley Development Trust and Heeley City Farm among other organisers put in a lot of effort and their workers and volunteers deserve a big clap!

I attended with a friend and some children and we all had a great day out.

The Heeley Millenium Park, which is looking great since a shedload of investment thanks to a successful bid from the Development Trust (well done Jack!) was more than entertainment enough in itself for our little friends!

We also saw lots of animals, at the birds of prey display, where by the time we got there certain feathery friends were getting a little restless, but this guy was still playing it cool…

And on the farm, where we held bearded dragons, lionhead rabbits (I already have two of my own so couldn’t resist), and this teeny tiny mouse!

We also watched Boomshanka Tribal Belly Dance for a while – a group my sister danced with for quite a while.  The tribal style of Belly Dance is certainly one I prefer over the sexualised Turkish and Egyptian styles usually passed off in tacky Middle Eastern restaurants. That said, it is the least traditional style, so I suppose you must form your own opinions. Have a look at Bellydancing’s Wiki for more info. In spite its claim to little evidence, I’m going to stick by my romanticism that Bellydance was the entertainment that women in the Harems did for each other. I quite liked this history too.

So!  A good day had by all, but it started raining so we headed for a swift one at the Shead View and then home. As you may have been able to tell, I’m quite a fan of these community events and it is a sore point that I’m sat at home missing Sharrow Fringe today – perhaps one of our other bloggers could update you.

Love, Sheffield

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirsty permalink
    July 3, 2010 6:41 pm

    I went to Sharrow Festival today so I’ll be blogging about it later. I’ll have to go to the Heeley one next year.

  2. July 4, 2010 11:43 am

    Hey thanks for the mention of the farm! We had a really good one this year and raised a bit of money to fund all our projects. Hope you make it again next year.

Leave a Reply

