Skip to content

Peace in the Park

June 18, 2010

As promised here’s a quick roundup of what was most probably the best PitP yet!

A perfect day – miraculously after a foggy, rainy, schizophrenic week of weather – the sun shone and the hippies (and everyone else) turned out for a fantastic festival day at the Ponderosa.

It seemed impossible for me to get around everything I wanted to, so I only saw a fraction of the things that were going on, so hopefully you can fill in the missing pieces with your own experiences!

For me, the highlight of the day was Jungle Lion, sending the main stage wild with their rendition of Toots and the Maytals ’54-46 Was My Number’ – why not listen to this whilst reading the rest of the post, and you’ll get a real feel of the day!

2.30pm, and The Ruby Kid’s set got the day going on the Opus stage – the new versions of the material with the Black Jacobins sounding fresh and brilliant, the only downside was the short length of the set!

A fantastic display from a Sheffield Capoeira group was so exciting it even drew blood! I’m now sorely tempted to have a go at this myself, but I have to admit I’m not the most agile of people (maybe they can teach me?).

The Molly Rogers’ hootenanny in the Community Tent, plus (un)willing volunteers!

Peace on the hill, people in the park.

The Renegade Brass Band party, with the best sousaphone I’ve ever seen!

Respect to all the PitP organisers and artists!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

