Skip to content

A Night Less Ordinary

March 17, 2010

IMG_5517

The Arts Council are funding a fantastic arts programme at the moment called ‘A Night Less Ordinary‘. A scheme giving free theatre tickets to under 26s across the country, Sheffield Theatres are fully involved, and it’s even more exciting now that the Crucible is back, alive and kicking once more.

Basically, you take some ID to the Crucible reception, give a few basic details (your address) and get a little membership card. Then on the first Tuesday of every month tickets are dished out for all the shows over the next month on a first-come first-served basis. You can only get tickets for yourself so its better to get these cards at least in pairs unless you’re a fan of visiting shows alone – my problem is that my bloke hasn’t yet had the time to get his so I haven’t been inclined to get any tickets yet!

To be honest I was apprehensive to share this based on the first-come first-served bit – it’s a dog-eat-dog world, right? But I’m nice like that.

So thank you, Arts Council, for doing something useful and inclusive and not completely wrapped up in red tape for once. I just hope that they’re advertising it to the right people! I hope that, due to this post, you all have a good free night out soon – I’d like to think it was my doing!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 12:56 am

    That’s really great news, the theatr here in Fishguard is crap. It shows films 3 months after they’ve been shown everywhere else. That and the occasional ‘battle of the bands’ competitions is all they do. No wonder it’s going to get closed down soon, which will be sad, even though it is crap.

    Reccomend blog reading:

    http://birdpooblog.wordpress.com/ – jo’s blog
    http://woodknot.wordpress.com/ – my brother’s blog
    http://jwtweb.co.uk/wordpress/ – my blog (now includes lovely horse photo!)

  2. March 17, 2010 1:14 am

    This sounds like such a great scheme! They should do this in Brum!

  3. March 18, 2010 8:20 am

    Ah yes I think I’m going to do this when I go to london next weekend if I can find the site!
    Should be good :)

Leave a Reply

