Skip to content

Sheffield General Cemetery

March 15, 2010

After the first picket day (last Monday) I hopped off the bus on Ecclesall Road and up to the old cemetary. I’m sure most of you have been there so this is mostly a photo-heavy posting, as that particular morning was crisp, frosty and bright and sunny all at once. They’re doing a lot of renovation work in the cemetary on the paths at the moment so it was a bit muddy underfoot, but no reason not to make use of this all at once spooky and beautiful site. I like that it’s usually quiet, but I’d still encourage you to take a trip down there every now and then.

I found it quite odd that there was a new-looking wooden coffin just lying near the entrance (butting up against the residential buildings) seemingly left to the elements. Any ideas why? As far as I know this cemetery is no longer used to bury people.

IMG_5433

Even by lunch time there was still frost on the ground. Not that it surprised me – it was -7°c on the picket line at 6.30am that day!

IMG_5437

IMG_5440

I met a very friendly cat who was quite happy rolling on the gravestones sunbathing.

IMG_5454

I wonder what this man did to lose his head?

IMG_5457

…and why the mysterious Hutchinson didn’t warrant an epitaph.

IMG_5459

The booklet in the cemetery describe this as ‘the paupers grave’ for all those who were too poor to afford their own headstones.

IMG_5460

IMG_5477

The catacombs – rather unpopular, apparently.

IMG_5436a

IMG_5439a

More cat…

IMG_5445a

IMG_5462a

It looks to me like spring has sprung.


The Sheffield General Cemetery website is quite charming, and has some great stories about the residents who reside there. My favourite has to be George Bassett (of Bassett’s Liquorice Allsorts) – great story!

After that I wondered home following the Porter Brook and came across something that I couldn’t help seeing some irony in…

The asterisk clinches it.

Happy flâneur-ing everyone.

NB – all but the final two photos are from the lovesheffield Flickr account hence the sharpening. At the moment I’m not sure which I prefer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 6:12 pm

    Dydd Sul
    Dydd Llun << Heddiw
    Dydd Mawrth
    Dydd Mercher
    Dydd Iau
    Dydd Gwener
    Dydd Sadwrn

    The days of the week in Welsh there… They derserve a round of tumbleweed based applause.

    *clap* roll etc.

    Might be part of the wordpress image server not working or something – I can't see the last two images (or the header image or any others hosted there). The rest are nice though, I like the cats ones!

Trackbacks

  1. Sharrow Lantern Carnival « Love Sheffield

Leave a Reply

